A digital graded reader

If you are an online teacher interested in using grader readers with their learners or bricks-and-mortar teacher looking to promote extensive reading, I have recently self-published a digital graded reader. It is aimed at learners at the top end of pre-intermediate and the lower end of intermediate.

It is a fast-paced, contemporary and (hopefully) funny story about a detective who goes undercover as a trainee English teacher in Brighton, England. It also contains a range of innovative activities that exploit the connectivity of ebooks.

Check it out at: http://www.markjoliver.co.uk/brian-british.html

 

Brian British (Small)

Author: markjoliver

My name is Mark J. Oliver. I'm from Gloucestershire, England. After Graduating from Cardiff University and a brief spell working in London, Brighton and Gloucester, I left the UK to start teaching English as a foreign language. Over the last fourteen years, I've lived and taught in Australia, Japan, Brazil, Portugal, Thailand, Singapore, Lebanon, Borneo, Taiwan and Sri Lanka. I have a Cambridge Diploma in English Language Teaching to Adults and an MA in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages. I love teaching and I'm advocate of integrating technology into language learning. Inspired by my travels and the cast of incredible characters I met along the way, I set out to write my first novel, The Rift Rider, in 2013. I followed this up with my second novel, The Alliance of Remarkable Landlords, in 2015. They are both available, exclusively on Amazon. In addition to teaching and teacher training, I create English language learning and teaching materials. So far, I've published the blended learning teacher's resource book, Text Chat Activities: A Resource Book for Language Teachers, and two digital graded readers, Brian British: Part-Time Teacher, Full-Time Detective, and The Dragon Thief . I regularly post English Language Teaching articles on my blog - textchatteacher.wordpress.com - and in May 2016 was published in Modern English Teacher and English Australia Journal. In my free time I enjoy surfing, scuba diving, exploring, watching Gloucester RFC and sipping a fine ale in the comforts of good pub.

Leave a Reply

