Text Chat Activities: A Resource Book for Language Teachers

Text Chat Activities (Large)

With the rise of smartphones and tablets, WiFi and 4G, text chat has become a common form of daily communication for many around the world. By bringing it into our language classes we can provide our learners with real world practice, giving them the skills they need to communicate in today’s tech-influenced society. And the benefits don’t end there.

In this book, I discuss the advantages of using text chat with language learners and how teachers can integrate it into their courses. I have also included a range of text chat tasks for use in pairs or small groups. Adapted from traditional communicative activities, and utilising a range of technology and media, these tasks are an engaging and fun way for learners to practice their language in a text chat environment. Each task comes with clear instructions for teachers and students.

Although primarily aimed at teachers of English as a foreign language, teachers of other languages can also reap the benefits of text chat practice by adapting activities to suit their learners’ needs .

Check it out on Amazon – only $2.99

 

Author: markjoliver

My name is Mark J. Oliver. I'm from Gloucestershire, England. After Graduating from Cardiff University and a brief spell working in London, Brighton and Gloucester, I left the UK to start teaching English as a foreign language. Over the last fourteen years, I've lived and taught in Australia, Japan, Brazil, Portugal, Thailand, Singapore, Lebanon, Borneo, Taiwan and Sri Lanka. I have a Cambridge Diploma in English Language Teaching to Adults and an MA in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages. I love teaching and I'm advocate of integrating technology into language learning. Inspired by my travels and the cast of incredible characters I met along the way, I set out to write my first novel, The Rift Rider, in 2013. I followed this up with my second novel, The Alliance of Remarkable Landlords, in 2015. They are both available, exclusively on Amazon. In addition to teaching and teacher training, I create English language learning and teaching materials. So far, I've published the blended learning teacher's resource book, Text Chat Activities: A Resource Book for Language Teachers, and two digital graded readers, Brian British: Part-Time Teacher, Full-Time Detective, and The Dragon Thief . I regularly post English Language Teaching articles on my blog - textchatteacher.wordpress.com - and in May 2016 was published in Modern English Teacher and English Australia Journal. In my free time I enjoy surfing, scuba diving, exploring, watching Gloucester RFC and sipping a fine ale in the comforts of good pub.

Leave a Reply

